When Life Gives You Lemons…

You know what I love the most? A good saying or quote. You know, one of those uplifting little sentences which tells you “You’re doing an awesome job”, “Life can’t keep you down” or that you need to “Grab the bull by the horns”.

There was always one saying that I never did get though: “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade”. Now, I do understand what this quaint little phrase is trying to get at, but… if life hands me something free, I’m not making some cheap lemonade! What’s further, I believe sugar and water are also key ingredients to the process of lemonade-making. So why then, is the saying not: “When life gives you lemons, water and sugar, make lemonade“? I’m not sure about you, but my idea of a cool, refreshing drink on a hot and sunny afternoon is not lemon-juice!

Now, some of you may think that The Chad is being an extremely nit-picky Negative Nancy at the moment, but let me explain (as I so often implore you to let me do). What I’m attempting to get at is something much less negative and something much more empowering and positive. It is my personal belief that the saying should be: “When life gives you lemons, you say: ‘Screw you life!’ and go build yourself a state-of-the-art-robot!”.

Image
And by no means am I saying that we should all drop what we’re doing and become engineers. No, no. What I want to get out to everyone is that, life is way more complex than the vendor at your local farmer’s market. Not to say that he’s not an intelligent fellow, but if you want something, don’t wait for life to hand you the keys to a sweet ride. Go outside the box, grab the bull by the horns (this saying I do like, although it is probably best observed metaphorically and not literally) and hot-wire a sick joyride through life! Although remember, this is all metaphorically speaking. Don’t actually hot-wire a car. That’s illegal. Then life won’t give you lemons, life will give you 2-5 years in a state-penitentiary.

I’m sure some of you are also saying: “But just yesterday, I won the lottery… so did life not give me lemons then?”. First off, to that person who is asking themself that question, we all hate you. Secondly, no, life did not give you lemons. The lottery corporation gave you money – much more favourable and sought-after than lemons. Yes, life, at times, will deal you very fortunate hands. But then, it’s all based on perspective, correct? If you choose to see life as one big garbage-heap, then all of your lemons will be rotting and swarming with fruitflies. Conversely, if you choose to see life as a self-proclaimed “Heaven-on-Earth” then even the bitterest of lemons can be corrected with some much needed sugar (and water).

Where am I going with this? Funny, I ask myself that very question every single day. I’m attempting to steer you in a direction of empowerment. When life gives you lemons, don’t make that minor situational occurance the basis for your entire life and end it there… No, no. Use it as a stepping stone to make something bigger and, dare I say, better than lemonade! Positivity only begets more positivity! You should try it some time. Some of you might even be arguing that this is, in fact, what the saying is trying to impart to its lovely audience. I don’t buy that for a second though. For me, this saying is telling you: “When life gives you lemons, just settle for mediocrity and have yourself some lemon-juice”. Well not today madame!

So my friends, as always, it has been lovely procrastinating with you during the exam period… but alas, I must be back to studying (that’s right, I do study). So just remember, as the new saying goes: “When life gives you lemons, you say: ‘Screw you life!’ and go build yourself a state-of-the-art-robot!”Now there’s a sentimental quote-tattoo worth getting!

Much Lovin’,
The Chad.

Leave a Reply

