Imagine Your Imagined Imaginings

Greetings friends! Alas, it is I, your friendly neighbourhood Smart-Alec and I am here with yet another view into the sarcastic “intellect” which seams to permeate from my very core. Some of you may be wondering why I am posting on a Friday night (why am I not out partying, you may even say) but alas, after a 50+ hour work week, I honestly don’t want to leave my bed for the next 24 hours (which is currently where I am typing this). On top of that, who knows where and when inspiration will strike… especially when your imagination is as sporadically erratic as mine!

But that is what I wish to talk to you about (or perhaps rant): the wonders of the imagination!

For starters, I’d like you to raise your hand if you still use your imagination… Go ahead, I’ll wait. Now, if you actually, physically just raised your hand, then you, sir or madame, still possess some inkling of an imagination. How do I know that? Well it’s really quite simple… you were able to picture yourself among the countless other thousands (yeah, ok) who are reading this post and you simply saw yourself as one among the many who raised their hand to a simple question. To the rest of you? Well, you have become so bogged down with reality that your imagination has become locked away in a little box inside your mind and tossed over a bridge into a seemingly bottomless ravine of monotony.

I mean, with all due respect to the “real world”, at what point did our minds become so logarithmically repetitive that we can’t even dream anymore without waking up and quantifying it to our real-world principles? But let’s not get into a philosophical talk about who’s imagination is bigger… no, I simply just want to point out that just because we all have “grown up” (ie. aged) that does not mean that we have to sacrifice our imagination based on maturity. Maturity is all-and-well, but at what point did we decide (or get told) to hang up our childish dreams and cranial adventures because that’s what we are supposed to do?

Image

Don’t get me wrong, I am most certainly not telling you to go into work on Monday and hand your boss a finger painting as opposed to those important documents you were meant to have researched… no no, I am simply saying that you do not need to lead a completely repetitive life which lacks any sort of mental stimulation just because you are an adult. Next time you are outside, it is ok to picture the sky purple and map out your survival plan in case of a zombie apocalypse… but even zombie apocalypse’s are so common now in the minds of everyone that that’s not very imaginative. I would suggest something along the lines of: you’re a secret agent who is attempting to infiltrate a hidden society of squirrels who are attempting to assassinate the King of the Flamingoes… but that came from my imagination, so think up something of your own you plagiarist! Create your own adventures, tell your own stories and let your freaky-imagination-flag fly! It doesn’t have to make sense to anyone but you! And maybe the masses will see me as an immature loony who simply needs a visit to a psychiatrist… but you know what? I will fight for imagination because somewhere along our road to adulthood, it was culled out of many of us by teachers, preachers and other systematized creatures.

Image

If you undervalue the power of your own creativity, you are most assuredly destined for failure and mediocrity. Don’t let your imaginative side go my friends, for without it, we would most certainly not be where we are today.

Much Lovin’,
The Chad.

Leave a Reply

